+++
title = "Deprovision A Cluster"
weight = 37
updated = 2023-06-19
aliases = ["/docs/deprovision-a-cluster", "/docs/managed-search/elasticsearch-and-opensearch/cluster-management/deprovision-a-cluster/"]

[extra]
weight = 100
+++

Here's how to deprovision a cluster from your Bonsai dashboard.

Destroying your cluster is simple. In this doc we cover:

* How to deprovision a cluster
* FAQ

## How to deprovision a cluster

If you need to deprovision(destroy) a cluster, navigate to your cluster, 

{{ image(src="select-a-cluster.png", alt="Select a cluster", automatically_determine_ratio=true) }}

and head to the settings tab.

{{ image(src="settings-tab.png", alt="Cluster settings", automatically_determine_ratio=true) }}

Once you verify your account password in the form, you'll be able to click the Deprovision button.

Once a cluster has been deprovisioned, it is destroyed immediately. The data is deleted, it will instantly stop responding, and all requests will return an HTTP 404.

When you deprovision a paid cluster on Bonsai, you will automatically be credited with a prorated amount. This credit will apply to future invoices. For example, if you had a $50/mo cluster, which you destroyed after 3 weeks, you would get(roughly) $12.50 credit applied to your account.

### Note

This section does not apply to Heroku users. If you're a Heroku user, check out: [Removing the Bonsai Addon](@/docs/heroku/removing-bonsai/index.md)

## FAQ

### I don't see the Settings section on my dashboard.

If you can't find the Settings section on a cluster dashboard, then that means your Role on your team is either **Member** or **Billing**, neither of which can deprovision a cluster. Contact your team Admin to change your role, or handle the deprovision themselves. Read more about [how teams on Bonsai work](@/docs/account/team-member-management/index.md).

### What if I accidentally deprovisioned my cluster?

The data in your cluster will be automatically deleted. Bonsai retains hourly snapshots for the past 24 hours, and daily snapshots for the past 7 days. So if you accidentally deleted data you needed, our team might be able to provide a partial restore, depending on when we are alerted. [Contact us](mailto:support@bonsai.io) for more help.